Gluten free yummy cake experiment

image

Carrot Cake with Yogurt Cheesecake "Icing"

So I borrowed a book from the library to get to know the Gluten Free diet a bit better. We don’t need to be GF but I have been exploring reducing how much wheat we eat to see if it helps the kids learning disabilities.
The book is called gluten-free girl and the chef by the Ahern’s. She writes their love story through food. It is cute. There really are not a lot of sweet recipes but I learned quite a bit from the chef tips (the guy is a professional chef). For my 7 y.o.’s birthday I made the carrot cake recipe.  It turned out pretty good.
Recently I made some yogurt cheese. Nathan is working at a yogurt plant and the side benefit is free yogurt. To make yogurt cheese it is simple. Just drain yogurt. We leave the yogurt in a cloth covered strainer over a bowl for hours until it is as reduced/thick as we want. It is amazing how much it reduces! This yogurt cheese I had flavored with honey and vanilla. It was excellent with apple slices! 

So last night I made the carrot cake recipe again and when it was almost done I added my sweetened yogurt cheese/egg mix on top and baked it another 20-30 min. I have noticed that GF cakes tend to fall. This one might have had a chance if I hadn’t added the topping. But it made a rich, dense cake layer topped by a cheesecake “icing” – oh my what a pie as my kids would say. Rich, sweet, but not heavy. You don’t feel sick eating a slice like some super thick cheesecakes can make you feel.  Good as a breakfast or a dessert.  To up the sweetness  (I made it fairly light on sugar), adding a sauce on top would be easy as the cake creates a natural lip when it sinks down.

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

