Oh No, Mommy’s Experimenting Again!

Yup, that’s the actual cry my children were making before lunch today.  Not the most encouraging thing to hear!

Today’s lunch was supposed to be salmon cheese melts.  Except the toddler grabbed the crescent roll tube from the fridge, managed to pop the metal top off (how?!), and got the top half of the dough dirty! And then one of the three cans of salmon tasted like cat food!  Grr.  So the salmon got experimented with, to see if I could salvage the flavor (green curry, mustard, chopped onions and garlic and cilantro, and an avocado.  It was passible, but barely), and I experimented with the dough.  I made crescent roll triangles, spread with salmon paste (I was using the food processor to save time), sprinkled with frozen grated cheese, and covered it with another dough triangle.  I sealed the edges as best as I could and baked.  It was pretty good, if I do say so myself!  Of course, after each child scarfed one down, I heard no recanting.  And they’ll complain just as loudly the next time I experiment.  😉

They loved dessert though.  And it turned out well enough I might even put it up here.  Super simple.  Almond agar-agar in small dessert cups, topped with prepared lemon pie filling.  Very pretty, and tasty!  Just the right blend of sweet and sour.

Tonight Nathan took my prepared chicken broth with sauteed veggies and added pork meatballs, made with eggs and a gluten-free (GF) breadcrumb mix.  It was awesome!  We served it over basmati rice and almost every child wanted seconds.  Except one.  Of course.  There’s always one.  LOL.

meatball soup

Meatball soup

In other news, I couldn’t resist buying more plants.  So I’m going to have to dig up the sickly azalea from the garden to make room for the carrots and parsnips.  I’m going to have to use containers for the cucumbers, butternut squash and pie pumpkins (saved from last year’s garden! Win!).  I also couldn’t resist some carnations.  Carnations have got to be the most misleading florist flower EVER.  They smell NOTHING like their garden counterpart!  A real carnation smells like a little bit of heaven, sweet and spicy and delicious.  The store bought flowers smell like a fridge!  I have to believe nobody else knows about this travesty or there would be carnations growing in every yard!

We were forced into some more spring cleaning today.  Allegedly our kitchen countertops are getting replaced by the rental agreement tomorrow.  There’s not much wrong with them but apparently they charged the last tenant for damaging them so we get new ones.  The current ones are purple!  To match the purple floor.  Not joking.  🙂  So we had to find room for all of our kitchen appliances.  We have a ridiculous number of them according to my mom.  But hey, two cooks, 3 meals a day for 8 people…they’re labor-saving devices.  😉

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Chatelaine, General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

