How my garden grows

small container garden plot
It’s done, I’ve planted all that I can fit into my garden.  And added some pretty flowers.  🙂  Silver bells may not be there but we’ve got shells and pretty maids a plenty!  And toddler boy (aka Mr. Destruction) and a diggin’ dog so that’s why the fencing and containers.  I’ve done large, feed-your-family gardening and small in a box gardening.  This is where I’m at right now.  See, this area tends towards dry summer conditions, which they call a drought (ha, go to California and see what that really means!  I mean, really, in a place where it rains 9 months of the year you can’t call 3 dry-ish months a drought!).  And our interesting landlords made us sign a special provision that we wouldn’t try to use their irrigation….ya.  So every single thing in the yard must be watered by hand.  So in the fall I “rescued” the dying out of the rest of the yard (everything in this pic that is not a sprout) and planted it by the back door here.

Now I’ve filled it as much as possible with food plants.  Spinach, kale, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, sugar peas, onions, leeks, romaine lettuce, strawberries, pumpkins, and a few herbs: mint, rosemary, dill and lemon balm.  Plus some flowers to brighten it up – I wintered a few flowers in my kitchen bay but only two survived.  I hope to have lots of bushy plants to update with in a few months.

I like the idea of companion planting but don’t follow it too much beyond spreading my onions around.  What I do for weeds is plant things as close as possible to each other so they will hopefully overgrow the weeds soon.  I’m happy to report that the “mulch” on top is actually my composted chicken bedding that we carefully brought here from our last move (another rental provision was giving up our chickens, so sad, I can’t stand store bought eggs anymore!).

I love living on Vancouver Island and enjoying my spring planting a month before the rest of Canada.  😉

 

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Chatelaine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

