Thankful for Talia

Welcome to the world, Talia Renae Born!

I have put her birth story and name explanation here (also under the section called “births” at the top), if you are interested.

This post is where I want to say why I am thankful.  It being November, many people are posting daily reasons for thanksgiving; I have a whole bunch.  🙂

  • First and foremost, I am grateful that Talia is alive.  This pregnancy is the first that I have ever struggled with the fear of miscarriage (as my previous pregnancy miscarried), and I had that struggle even up to her delivery.  But she’s alive!! 🙂
  • I am grateful that God gave us Talia, when I was struggling very much with “empty arms syndrome” and not wanting to be DONE with having kids.  And grateful that He gave our little family hearts and hands to welcome her.
  • She is well, except for a broken clavicle (collarbone), which I have been assured will heal alright.
  • She is “normal” – she does not appear to have any immediately obvious disabilities … this is not to say that we would not love her or welcome her any less if she did, but I have had enough close experience with the disabled to be grateful for her sake and ours that that will not be a challenge we face with her.
  • Talia is an excellent eater!
  • Talia seems like such a tiny little thing to me, and skinny…but I am grateful that she came out without tearing me!  And the way she eats, she won’t be skinny for long.  🙂
  • I am grateful that while I asked for drugs at the end of labor, there wasn’t enough time to get them, so she was totally without drugs in her system when she was born, and also I was able to fully control pushing her out (in 2-3 pushes).
  • I am grateful for a good sister in the Lord, Jodi, who held the fort down at home for us while we were in the hospital.
  • I am so grateful for all the friends and family who were praying us through Talia’s birth and current recovery.
  • I am grateful that we have a family here, of our brothers and sisters in the Lord, who support us, feed us, pray for us, encourage us, and love us.
  • For myself, I am glad that God has given me a body where every birth has started with my “water breaking” – the amniotic fluid leaking out a little – so that I always have had several hours to prepare myself for labor.
  • I am grateful that I have a good husband, in normal life and during the extremes of labor and birth.
  • We found out afterwards that where the umbilical cord was attached to the placenta was on the edge, not the middle (don’t ask me to explain what that means) but apparently that is the position that can cause the cord to get in the way during birth, cutting off air to the baby and necessitating a real emergency C-section.   SOO grateful that didn’t happen to Talia!!
  • I hope this doesn’t come across as offensive, but I am grateful that I am a Christian and believe and trust and can rest in knowing that He is in control.  Another woman came into the hospital in transition right after we gave birth to Talia, and was put in the room next to me.  I could hear her very clearly (definitely a “natural childbirth”…ie, loud!) and having been there myself only a half hour before, I knew exactly what she was feeling…but her screams were ones of panic and fear and while I screamed a few times, I never felt that kind of panic or fear, just the pain.  So glad He is my Savior!  And it is my hope to share that hope with others, which is why we are planning to become missionaries….you gotta share news that great!  🙂
  • I am thankful that this time I gave birth at a hospital I knew very well, having been a volunteer on the birth floor for many months before Talia’s birth.  It was nice knowing the staff, what to expect, etc.
  • I am grateful that we didn’t have to pay the hospital bills!  When we were in between health care after moving from Canada in 2010, and I had the miscarriage that had me in the emergency of the same hospital, that one day meant being sent bills for $10,000!  Seriously.  And that was a miscarriage.  Who knows what a birth would cost?  (and also thankful that $10K was eventually covered too! 😉
  • I am thankful for a network of friends who do things like lend me their breast pump, and plan a baby shower for Talia – it will be our first since our firstborn! 🙂
  • Talia has been very calm and quiet when awake, and while we have no promises on that continuing, I am grateful that’s life right now!!

Well, that’s all I can think of right now… I may add more soon!  😀

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Christian, Real Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful for Talia

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!! WELCOME Talia! Praise the Lord that all went well (from what I’m reading here)–so much to be thankful for. We are so happy for you!!

Leave a Reply

