Sewing season

I have discovered the truth of “there is a season for everything” in my own life.  I tend to cycle between creative endeavors (scrapbooking, photography, sewing, etc) and once on a “kick” I do a year’s worth of projects…which is good because it will probably be a year before the urge strikes again!  🙂  Here is the fruit of the past two months’ sewing urges (which all started with just one baby blanket…3 baby blankets, 1 large quilt and 1 skirt-in-the-making will probably finish the urge off til next year!).

First, a little history.  I made my first child, Jonathan, a blue and yellow sun-themed quilt and finished it days before having him.  Back in the good ol’ days, when I could leave sharp pointy things out while in process!  I planned my second baby’s quilt after she was born, from scratch…mistake #1.  Quite a few mistakes later, I was stuck.  Her quilt took me over two years to finish.  Child #3? And #4?  Remained quilt-less, although family and friends amply supplied the lack.  Now, child #1 is old enough to actually want his own quilt that reflected his interests…so with a little family negotiation (Child #3 is now in possession of quilt #1) we began planning a quilt for him.  Bear-themed, using a swatch of camoflauged material as the kernel.  Here is the front:

Bear themed quilt for a boyThe bottom is “water,” the top blue is “sky” and the bear walks in the stars because I found that fabric and just loved it.  You can see the visionary camo around the bear.  I also chose to finish it around the edges with a satin, to make it suitable for an adult if he chose to keep it that long.  A lot of firsts for me in this project, including applique and piping.

back of boys quilt This is the back of the quilt.  I miscalculated my material needs quite badly for the front, so tried to use up the extra creatively on the back.  The yellow was supposed to be a sun for the front but after a 2″ mistake it became an accent.  😛

If you are like me, and reading this has made you feel badly about yourself (ie your four children don’t all have handmade quilts by mom!) then STOP!!  😀  Seriously, to do this much work it has to be something you really enjoy…and forget about it being cheap.  Each handmade quilt costs me well over $100 in materials.  But…the boy likes it.  😀 😀 😀

boy and dog on quilt

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Real Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

