Juno in review

I’m trying to write more reviews for my “Reviews” section  so here’s my Saturday night movie: Juno

Nathan’s studying for finals so I chose a chick-flick to watch; at least he won’t be tempted to procrastinate!  And Juno was successful in that, although he did smile at some of the scenes he saw in passing.  But, “It’s a teenage chick-flick!” is his resounding opinion, so here’s mine.

Juno was better than I expected; it didn’t fall into the standard plot devices (happy ending for everyone, etc) of most films for this market, the dialogue, while way cruder than I’m used to, was witty, the issues it dealt with (teenage pregnancy, adoption, divorce, and teen romance) were real and not portrayed “cartoonishly” (did I invent a new word? ;), and finally while the gloss was definitely there, it was very believable.  The main character, “Juno”, is very likeable and quirky.  Way more self-confident than I remember most teen girls being 15 years ago, but hey, maybe teenagers have moved past self-depreciative angst by now?  🙂

I would definitely see this movie again, in the future, so I’m giving it a solid B.

Now if only I could get Nathan to watch Secretariat with me….because, you know, all horse movies are chick-flicks by definition.  😛

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Juno in review

  1. K. says:

    Juno realistic? Really? Is that how it was for you as a pregnant teenager facing adoption?
    The way they spoke about the baby as something that had to be given away was disturbing. I imagine if an adopted person saw Juno they would cringe.

  2. nathankathy says:

    Hi Kim,
    Thanks for your feedback. I did want to say, I didn’t say Juno was realistic; I said that the issues it dealt with were “real”. I said Juno was believable, which I think is a little different than realistic. And while I praise God that I never had to face teenage pregnancy (and not because I was any more moral than “Juno”!), I do think that someone facing this choice *might* choose to deal with it in a similar way that “Juno” did. That’s why I think it was believable. As a mother, I don’t believe anyone carrying a child inside them _could_ remain distant but I do believe that if that person was planning on giving her child to another family she would do her very best to try to be distant. I think the movie portrayed that emotional tearing very well as Juno cried quietly while being held by her boyfriend, while at the same time saying in a voiceover that she had considered her baby “hers” (the adoptive mother’s). I think that the movie made it clear that Juno’s apparently crass attitude about giving the baby away was very much bravado, not her true feelings. Maybe I read into it what I would be feeling in a similar situation.
    I do hope that many young women facing this situation choose to give birth and life and not end it. It is true that by the time most women know that they are pregnant, their babies already have heartbeats…and fingernails follow shortly after. When I held my 12-week-old baby in my hand, this summer during my miscarriage, I was blown away at how absolutely perfect he was. After that, I simply cannot understand anyone choosing an abortion…not if they knew, saw, what I saw. So if this movie helps other women see adoption as a possible path, I am glad.

Leave a Reply

