When the sun comes out

I’ve been reading C.S. Lewis’s Narnia chronicles to Jonathan at night this summer.  We made it through The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and The Horse and His Boy.  Both great books.  One phrase caught my attention especially in the Horse book.  During storytelling the Calormenes say “The sun was dark in my eyes …” to show sadness, etc.  This image has really resonated with me this summer.  I am living in a beautiful place, southern California, and yet the sun has appeared dark in my eyes because of the stress of missing my husband and losing our baby.  Everything really seems dimmer.  I guess C.S. Lewis knew something about experiencing pain too.

Now that it looks like Nathan will be able to join us on Monday (2 days away!!) the whole world seems a bit brighter, and I’m sure it’ll just get better.  🙂  I even got creative in the kitchen tonight (see my Asian fusion BBQ recipe in the recipe section) which will be a nice changeup from our steady diet of hot dogs, Spaghetti-O’s and pizza.   (ps – don’t worry, the kids are healthy, they love their veggies and as long as I have peas, carrots, celery, etc available in the fridge they’ll snack happily!)

I am so looking forward to the sun finally coming out, 2 and a half months after going into hiding.

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Real Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the sun comes out

  1. Sara says:

    we’ve been listening to that series on CD 😀 and I’ve been reading his other books

  2. nathankathy says:

    It’s good stuff, isn’t it? I bought the Perelandra (scifi) series for my nephew and couldn’t resist re-reading it for myself. Sometimes it’s just so nice to read well-written work!

Leave a Reply

