Holy war against entropy

“Cleanliness is next to godliness”

I have been pondering dirt lately.  After a normal day of cleaning clothes, dishes, floor, etc, I realized that most of my life revolves around the insane attempt to keep dirt at bay.  Insane because as the physics’ law (2nd of thermodynamics) tells us, everything tends to chaos without someone working against it.  (loose understanding, physics is 10 years behind me!)  I still vividly recall my most …erm…pungent proof of this checking out rooms to rent while in college.  One place literally had trash about a foot high off the ground throughout the entire place.  Except for the bookcase full of empty beer bottles.  One glimpse of the carpet underneath all that and we ran, not walked, outta there!

It helps me to think of it that way, you know, to avoid little meltdowns like “If I have to pick up one more (insert favorite pet peeve) SOMEbody’s gonna die today!!!”  Imagining myself in a holy war against dirt and mess, shoulder-to-shoulder in battle with all my fellow soldiers around the world, seems to keep the mental keel somewhat even.  And that’s my theory on why “Cleanliness is next to godliness”….although, come to think of it, God must not really be bothered by dirt and mess _that_ much since He made so very much of it.  Hmn.

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Christian, Real Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

