Goin’ on a Hunt

I’ve been reading some learning disability books lately, and ran across this comparison.  They said that some kids (ADD, etc) are like hunters in a farmers world.  Their skillset, as you might call it, of constantly monitoring the environment (distractability), wandering around (restlesness), etc are actual traits a good hunter might have.  While a good farmer follows things through patiently, a hunter goes off to find the next meal.

I didn’t talk about this at all with my 5-y.o. son.  So when he put a backpack on, grabbed a hat and declared himself ready to go out for a walk/hunt I just said “Ok!” and finished getting my garden ready for winter.  Apparently animals needed hunting, while my garden needed mulching.  Yup.  I think this analogy’s a keeper.  I suspect it will help me keep perspective instead of pulling my hair out.  Now if only I could direct all that energy into something fruitful….

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Real Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

