Do Hard Things

I’ve started reading the book “Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations” by Alex and Brett Harris today.  I got it as a gift for a nephew but it looked interesting enough that I decided to read it first.  So far pretty much everything they have to say is totally relevant to every age group, not just teenagers.  One thing struck me since I last posted about being “good enough” – striving for holiness is what God calls us to, not achieving holiness.  Their book challenges the reader to go out of comfort zones, stretch and do hard things for God that give Him the glory.  There was an uncomfortably familiar portrayal of the person who never tries.  I know that there are things I should have tried to do and just gave up before starting.  I’m hoping this will spur me on to actually try next time, even if I do end up failing.  Nathan told me the other night during one of those painful truthful talks that it seems like I always choose the harder path of pursuing things I am not good at and neglect doing the things I actually have some talent for  (yes, in case you didn’t know, I spent 4 years of my life getting a Bachelors of Science out of sheer stubborness).  So for me, doing hard things will hopefully mean pursuing developing the gifts God has given me instead of trying 100 other things He hasn’t gifted me in.

I’m not done with the book yet but it’s a definite thumbs-up for anyone wanting to exceed “good enough” for themselves and for God.

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Christian, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do Hard Things

  1. yanangski says:

    i agree this is a great book. and like you, i’ve wasted precious time not doing what God has told me to do. but it’s not too late my dear friend. glad that this book woke both of us in fulfilling the plans God has for us.

    God bless you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

