Organic baby

I love the whole debate over organic foods.  As if there was a whole lot of folks who preferred eating inorganic….let’s just call ’em what they are.  Dirt-eaters.  Rubber-ducky ravagers.  Rockovores.  I know at least 2 myself: my two daughters!  I’m sure there are more out there!  Unite against them!

Seriously, I have been astounded at what my girls find to put in their mouths, and by how much they enjoy them!  Eliana’s been munching a glass pendant for a day, Sophia’s been known to chew tinfoil…tinfoil.  And don’t get me started on them drinking water from puddles!  Talk about inorganic content!  Jonathan, my organic child, was on his hands and knees grabbing mouthfuls of baby spinach in his mouth like a goat today.  Sheesh.  And here we are practically begging them to eat the nutritous food we make for them, forget whether “organic” label or not.

That’s why I get a kick out of seeing all these organic articles and labels everywhere.  When you get right down to it, all food is organic.  But I guess “pesticide-poison-petrochemically-derived-fertilizer-free” just doesn’t have the same ring to it as “organic” does.  I have an “organic” garden myself but after a few hours of weeding that RoundUp is looking mighty tempting…especially since weeds seem to flourish far more than cultivated food plants without the chemicals.  Sigh.  But at least I knew Jonathan was just getting good ol’ fashioned inorganic dirt with his spinach today, instead of brain-melting petrochemicals.

About nathankathy

Nathan and Katherine Born are two Christians trying to serve God as best they can.
This entry was posted in Real Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

